Headlines

Int'l Travelers items and volunteers needed!

Follow link below to read about decorations needed to get ready for IT Brazill week.  Also sign up today to volunteer!

Learn More

Peachtree Jr Road Race 5/17/2014

Click below for registration information
Learn More

2014/15 School Year Registration

Click below for Registration, Enrollment, Proof of Residency forms and checklists for next school year

Learn More

Local School Council Nominations

Nominations for one parent representative and for two parent/business partner representatives of the Local School Council are open from Monday, April 25, 2014 until Friday, May 2, 2014.  All nomi...more

Learn More
April 20 - Sunday
Kids Photography Purchase due today!
April 22 - Tuesday
Kindergarten field trip Young Audiences
April 23 - Wednesday
CRCT - Reading
12:00 PM - NAPPS meeting
April 24 - Thursday
CRCT - English Language Arts
April 25 - Friday
CRCT - Mathematics
09:00 AM - Kindergarten Round-Up!!
April 26 - Saturday
07:00 PM - SSEF Donor Party
April 28 - Monday
CRCT - Science
April 29 - Tuesday
CRCT - Social Studies
09:30 AM - Present Parenting - Matthew Gardner, Dir Lindamood-Bell Learning Center
April 30 - Wednesday
CRCT - Make-up
09:30 AM - Kindergarten field trip
05:00 PM - Hungry for Happiness at Arby's
May 1 - Thursday
CRCT - Make-up
School withdrawal deadline
09:30 AM - Kindergarten field trip
May 2 - Friday
Local School Council Nomination Deadline
07:30 AM - Fidelity Bank
09:30 AM - 2nd Grade field trip
May 5 - Monday
International Travelers Week
May 6 - Tuesday
Teacher Appreciation Day
International Travelers Week
May 7 - Wednesday
International Travelers Week
08:05 AM - Birthday Book Club - K, 1st 2nd
08:15 AM - PTA Board meeting
09:00 AM - Prospective Parent Tour (IC)
10:00 AM - Prospective Parent Tour (PC)
01:45 PM - Birthday Book Club - 3rd -5th grade
May 8 - Thursday
International Travelers Week
07:30 AM - BoxTops collection
08:05 AM - Birthday Book Club - K, 1st 2nd (June/July b'days)
02:30 PM - Jr. Beta Club Meeting
May 9 - Friday
International Travelers Week
May 12 - Monday
Teacher Appreciation Week
Kindergarten Screening
May 13 - Tuesday
Teacher Appreciation Week
Kindergarten Screening
07:30 AM - Sarah Smith Local School Council ELECTION DAY!
06:30 PM - Second Grade Night at the IC
May 14 - Wednesday
Teacher Appreciation Week
Kindergarten Screening
May 15 - Thursday
Teacher Appreciation Week
5th Grade exhibition
Kindergarten Screening
May 16 - Friday
Teacher Appreciation Week
5th Grade exhibition
07:30 AM - Fidelity Bank
May 17 - Saturday
08:00 AM - Peachtree Jr Road Race
May 20 - Tuesday
Field Day (Primary Campus)
07:00 PM - 5th Grade Graduation
May 21 - Wednesday
CRCT re-test
Field Day (Intermediate Campus
Yearbook (IC)
May 22 - Thursday
CRCT re-test
Yearbook (PC)
May 23 - Friday
Last day of school
CRCT re-test
June 3 - Tuesday
End of Year report cards
August 4 - Monday
First day of School
September 1 - Monday
Labor Day - School Closed
October 9 - Thursday
No School - Fall Break (Teacher Learning Day)
October 10 - Friday
No School - Fall Break
October 11 - Saturday
No School - Fall Break
October 12 - Sunday
No School - Fall Break
October 13 - Monday
No School - Fall Break
November 24 - Monday
Thanksgiving Break - NO SCHOOL
November 25 - Tuesday
Thanksgiving Break - NO SCHOOL
November 26 - Wednesday
Thanksgiving Break - NO SCHOOL
November 27 - Thursday
Thanksgiving Break - NO SCHOOL
November 28 - Friday
Thanksgiving Break - NO SCHOOL
December 22 - Monday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 23 - Tuesday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 24 - Wednesday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 25 - Thursday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 26 - Friday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 27 - Saturday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 28 - Sunday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 29 - Monday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 30 - Tuesday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 31 - Wednesday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
January 1 - Thursday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
January 2 - Friday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
January 3 - Saturday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
January 4 - Sunday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
January 5 - Monday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
January 19 - Monday
MLK Day - No School
February 13 - Friday
Winter Break - No School
February 16 - Monday
Winter Break - No School
February 17 - Tuesday
Winter Break - No School
March 16 - Monday
Teacher Learning Day - No School
April 6 - Monday
Spring Break - No School
April 7 - Tuesday
Spring Break - No School
April 8 - Wednesday
Spring Break - No School
April 9 - Thursday
Spring Break - No School
April 10 - Friday
Spring Break - No School

Principal Newsletter

March 31, 2014
Hello Sarah Smith Community ~
With the school year quickly passing by, thoughts begin to turn to next school year and about class placement for students.  It is critically important for parents to understand that the placement process has many factors which must be considered when formulating classes.  Classes are NOT formulated by administrators in isolation, rather all teachers provide input within their grade level teams in order to create the class lists.  Your child’s teacher has the best knowledge of each child’s educational needs.  The following information is taken into account when forming classes:
  1. Educational needs of each child
  2. Gender
  3. Ethnicity
  4. Performance levels of each child
  5. Behavior considerations
  6. Special services (ESOL, Special Education, Gifted, SST)
The process of class placement is taken very seriously.  It is important to provide each student with a rich range of exposure to different styles of teachers from year to year.  The staff and the principal are very prepared to make decisions about student placement.  I am asking parents to trust the recommendations of the educators who know the children and have taught them.  Parents interested in providing the school with information about their child which may assist us in placing him/her in a classroom are asked to do so via email or letter to the child’s current teacher and to the principal no later than April 15, 2014.  Please DO NOT request a teacher by name.  Only highlight for us the type of learning environment in which your child would be most successful from your perspective.  Requests to move children from one class to another will only be granted in extreme circumstances.      
 
The placement process continues well into the summer since new students continue to enroll and some current students withdraw.  The administrative team, in collaboration with teachers, makes final placement decisions. 
 
Remind 101 –
Just a friendly reminder…have you signed-up for text messages via the SRS Emergency texting service?  In order to register, simply follow this link http://www.remind101.com/join/srseme and enter your cell phone number.  You will automatically be added to the list.  So far 420 people have subscribed.  This service will ONLY be used to notify parents of emergencies at the school such as when the snow/ice storm hit on January 28, 2014. 
 
Congratulations –
The following students have had major accomplishments in the past few weeks.
  • Noorzlyan Raboodi, a fourth grader in Ms. Wade’s class, represented Sarah Smith at the APS district-level spelling me where she finished in second place.  The winning student was an eighth grade student.
  • Aydin Bandukwala, a fifth grader in Ms. Sumlin’s class, has qualified for the 2014 Georgia Geographic Bee to be held at Georgia College and State University on April 4, 2014.
  • Madeleine Miklovic, a fifth grader in Ms. Abromitis’s class, has been selected as a Carson Scholar for 2014 for writing.  She will receive a $1,000 scholarship award that will be invested for her college education.
  • The Sarah Smith Odyssey of the Mind team won first place at the regional tournament at Parkview High School.  They will now compete in the state tournament.  Members of the team include Andrew Ellis, Jackson Langley, Davis Maxey, Sam Stovin and Jackson Tilgner.
  • The following SRS students have WON at the Reflections state level and are moving on to NATIONALS!
    • Visual Arts - Amelia Hussain (2nd Grade -Welf)
    • Literature - Addison Achey (K - Eden)
    • Literature - Seth Fagin (5th Grade - Abromitis)
    • Dance - Abby Williams (3rd Grade Jones)
    • Dance - Braelyn Gamble (K- Farmer)
    • Film - Henry Sheehan (1st Grade - Cecil)
    • Film - Tenley Vassar (1st Grade - O'Meara)
       
Staff Feature –
 
Each month, two staff members are randomly selected to profile in The Anchor.  This gives you an opportunity to know a little bit about the wonderful faculty and staff members working with your children every day. 
Shea Baker – Kindergarten Teacher
Birthplace/Hometown – Carrollton, Georgia
Education – Master’s in Reading Education
Hobbies, Family, Interests – Cooking, shipping, drinking wine, traveling and enjoying time with family and friends
Favorite Quote – “In wine there is a wisdom, in beer there is freedom, in water there is bacteria.”
 
Brett Carter – 5th Grade Teacher
Birthplace/Hometown – Sugar Land, Texas
Education –  Bachelor’s in Interdisciplinary Studies from the University of Houston
Hobbies, Family, Interests – Brett has two younger brothers, loves going to concerts and anything music-related, trying new foods and restaurants, planning endless games of Cards Against Humanity, going to his usual haunts around Atlanta, watching movies
Claim to Fame – His effervescent personality (and dry sense of humor)
Favorite Quote – “Novels are more than words, songs are more than notes, a painting more than just color.  Learning more than a score.”
 
Did You Know –
Sarah Smith had an overall average Criterion-Referenced Competency Test (CRCT) of score of 863.0 in the spring of 2013.  In order to be classified as exceeding standards, the average score must be 850.  Over the past three-year period, SRS students have consistently had more than 95% of our students meeting or exceeding standards on the CRCT in English Language Arts and Reading.  In social studies, more than 90% of SRS students have met or exceeded and in science and mathematics, 84% or more of the students have met or exceeded the standards. 
Your Principal,
Ken Proctor, Ed.D

From the Principal's Desk

On behalf of all of us at Sarah R. Smith Elementary School, I would like to welcome you to our website. Sarah Smith Elementary has a long and distinguished history of service to our children and families.  We are proud of our students.  They continue to achieve at high levels and make significant contributions.
 
--- Dr. Kenneth Proctor