Get yours today!

Warning about Peanuts

Several Sarah Smith students have severe allergies to peanuts and tree nuts. As Halloween and the holiday season approach, do not send items containing nuts to school to distribute to students. Items ...more

Lice: Get the Facts

Lice. There is no word more dreaded by parents of school-aged children. To help keep Sarah Smith lice-free, we've created a "Lice Fact Sheet" with facts about how lice are contracted and...more

More News Headlines

Read more Sarah Smith News.

November 28 - Friday
Thanksgiving Break - NO SCHOOL
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
December 3 - Wednesday
09:00 AM - School Tours
December 5 - Friday
07:30 AM - Fidelity Bank
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
December 9 - Tuesday
1st Grade Candy-Gram Sale
3rd Grade French Food Day
December 10 - Wednesday
1st Grade Candy-Gram Sale
06:30 PM - Jr. Beta Club Induction
December 11 - Thursday
5th Grade French Food Day
December 12 - Friday
2nd Grade Field Trip
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
09:30 AM - 4th Grade Field Trip
December 15 - Monday
3rd Grade Field Trip
December 16 - Tuesday
3rd Grade Field Trip
Kindergarten Field Trip
December 17 - Wednesday
3rd Grade Field Trip
December 19 - Friday
Class Holiday Parties
07:30 AM - Fidelity Bank
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
December 22 - Monday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 23 - Tuesday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 24 - Wednesday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 25 - Thursday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 26 - Friday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
December 27 - Saturday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 28 - Sunday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 29 - Monday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 30 - Tuesday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
December 31 - Wednesday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
January 1 - Thursday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
January 2 - Friday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
January 3 - Saturday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
January 4 - Sunday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
January 5 - Monday
Holiday Break - NO SCHOOL
January 8 - Thursday
1st Grade French Food Day
2nd Grade French Food Day
4th Grade French Food Day
5th Grade French Food Day
January 9 - Friday
Report Cards
1st Grade French Food Day
2nd Grade French Food Day
4th Grade French Food Day
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
January 12 - Monday
4th Grade - HTHT
January 13 - Tuesday
4th Grade - HTHT
Kindergarten - HTHT
3rd Grade French Food Day
09:30 AM - Read-A-Thon Classroom Rep Meeting - PC Cafeteria
12:00 PM - Present Parenting Speaker - PC Auditorium
07:00 PM - PTA Meeting - IC Gym
January 14 - Wednesday
4th Grade - HTHT
Kindergarten - HTHT
January 15 - Thursday
Kindergarten - HTHT
5th Grade - HTHT
January 16 - Friday
5th Grade - HTHT
07:30 AM - Fidelity Bank
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
January 19 - Monday
MLK Day - No School
January 20 - Tuesday
2nd Grade - HTHT
January 21 - Wednesday
2nd Grade - HTHT
09:30 AM - Prospective Parents Meeting
January 22 - Thursday
Read-A-Thon
2nd Grade - HTHT
January 23 - Friday
Read-A-Thon
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
January 24 - Saturday
Read-A-Thon
January 25 - Sunday
Read-A-Thon
January 26 - Monday
Read-A-Thon
January 27 - Tuesday
Read-A-Thon
January 28 - Wednesday
Read-A-Thon
January 29 - Thursday
Read-A-Thon
January 30 - Friday
Read-A-Thon
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
January 31 - Saturday
Read-A-Thon
February 1 - Sunday
Read-A-Thon
February 2 - Monday
Read-A-Thon
February 3 - Tuesday
Read-A-Thon
February 4 - Wednesday
Read-A-Thon
PTA & SSEF Board Nominations Due
09:00 AM - School Tours
February 5 - Thursday
Read-A-Thon
February 6 - Friday
07:30 AM - Fidelity Bank
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
06:30 PM - Bingo Night
February 9 - Monday
Teacher Appreciation Week
February 10 - Tuesday
Teacher Appreciation Week
February 11 - Wednesday
Teacher Appreciation Week
February 12 - Thursday
Teacher Appreciation Week
February 13 - Friday
Winter Break - No School
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
February 16 - Monday
Winter Break - No School
February 17 - Tuesday
Winter Break - No School
February 18 - Wednesday
4th Grade - HTHT
3rd Grade Tattling Tales History Presentation
12:00 PM - NAPPS Community Meeting - E. Rivers Elementary
February 19 - Thursday
Box Tops Collection Day
4th Grade - HTHT
3rd Grade Tattling Tales History Presentation
February 20 - Friday
4th Grade - HTHT
07:30 AM - Fidelity Bank
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
February 24 - Tuesday
Mardi Gras
February 25 - Wednesday
5th Grade Field Trip
February 26 - Thursday
5th Grade Field Trip
February 27 - Friday
5th Grade Field Trip
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
07:00 PM - Read-A-Thon Hawks Game
March 4 - Wednesday
Walk To School Day
09:00 AM - School Tours
March 5 - Thursday
5th Grade - HTHT
March 6 - Friday
5th Grade - HTHT
07:30 AM - Fidelity Bank
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
06:00 PM - Taste of SRS
March 9 - Monday
Rising Kindergarten Registration (Last Names A-E)
08:15 AM - 3rd Grade Field Trip
March 10 - Tuesday
Rising Kindergarten Registration (Last Names F-M)
08:15 AM - 3rd Grade Field Trip
09:30 AM - Present Parenting Speaker - PC Auditorium
March 11 - Wednesday
Rising Kindergarten Registration (Last Names N-T)
March 12 - Thursday
Rising Kindergarten Registration (Last Names U-Z)
Spring Picture Day
March 13 - Friday
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
March 16 - Monday
Teacher Learning Day - No School
March 18 - Wednesday
4th Grade - HTHT
March 19 - Thursday
4th Grade - HTHT
March 20 - Friday
Report Cards
4th Grade - HTHT
07:30 AM - Fidelity Bank
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
09:30 AM - 1st Grade Field Trip
March 23 - Monday
Spring Conferences
March 24 - Tuesday
Spring Conferences
March 25 - Wednesday
Spring Conferences
2nd Grade Field Trip
11:00 AM - 4th Grade Field Trip
07:00 PM - Spring Musical
March 26 - Thursday
Spring Conferences
3rd Grade - HTHT
11:00 AM - 4th Grade Field Trip
07:00 PM - Spring Musical
March 27 - Friday
Spring Conferences
3rd Grade - HTHT
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
March 30 - Monday
Spring Conferences
Kindergarten Field Trip
March 31 - Tuesday
Spring Conferences
11:00 AM - 4th Grade Field Trip
07:00 PM - PTA Meeting - IC Gym
April 1 - Wednesday
Spring Conferences
09:00 AM - School Tours
11:00 AM - 4th Grade Field Trip
April 2 - Thursday
Spring Conferences
1st Grade French Food Day
April 3 - Friday
Spring Conferences
1st Grade French Food Day
07:30 AM - Fidelity Bank
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
April 6 - Monday
Spring Break - No School
April 7 - Tuesday
Spring Break - No School
April 8 - Wednesday
Spring Break - No School
April 9 - Thursday
Spring Break - No School
April 10 - Friday
Spring Break - No School
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
April 13 - Monday
4th Grade - HTHT
April 14 - Tuesday
4th Grade - HTHT
April 15 - Wednesday
4th Grade - HTHT
12:00 PM - NAPPS Community Meeting - North Atlanta HS
April 16 - Thursday
2nd Grade French Food Day
April 17 - Friday
2nd Grade French Food Day
07:30 AM - Fidelity Bank
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
April 24 - Friday
Kindergarten Round-Up
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
April 27 - Monday
1st Grade - HTHT
April 28 - Tuesday
1st Grade - HTHT
3rd Grade French Food Day
April 29 - Wednesday
1st Grade - HTHT
April 30 - Thursday
Kindergarten Field Trip
5th Grade French Food Day
May 1 - Friday
07:30 AM - Fidelity Bank
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
May 4 - Monday
Rising Kindergarten Screening
May 5 - Tuesday
Rising Kindergarten Screening
May 6 - Wednesday
Rising Kindergarten Screening
May 7 - Thursday
Box Tops Collection Day
Rising Kindergarten Screening
4th Grade French Food Day
May 8 - Friday
Rising Kindergarten Screening
4th Grade French Food Day
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
May 11 - Monday
International Travelers Week
May 12 - Tuesday
International Travelers Week
Local School Council Election Day
06:30 PM - 2nd Grade Night at the IC
May 13 - Wednesday
International Travelers Week
May 14 - Thursday
International Travelers Week
5th Grade PYP Exhibition
May 15 - Friday
International Travelers Week
5th Grade PYP Exhibition
07:30 AM - Fidelity Bank
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
May 20 - Wednesday
Yearbook Signing - IC
05:30 PM - 5th Grade Graduation
May 21 - Thursday
Yearbook Signing - PC
May 22 - Friday
Last day of school!!!
End of Year Parties
May 25 - Monday
Memorial Day
June 2 - Tuesday
Final Report Cards

October 27, 2014

Hello Sarah Smith Community: 

A special thanks to Leslie Inskeep, Annie May, and Robyn Vassar for organizing and implementing the recent Reflections art event on behalf of the PTA.  There were approximately 200 entries and the culmination was an awards ceremony held on October 21, 2014 to recognize the entrants and those who received first, second and third places in each category. 

Thank you to Mara Perkins and the dedicated team of volunteers for a very successful Fall Festival.  The weather was beautiful and everyone enjoyed a fun-filled day of activities and socializing.  This event takes an incredible amount of work…thanks to everyone who had a part!

Grandparents’ and Special Friends’ Day was a huge success again this year.  Thanks so much to Elizabeth Sharpton, Jane Bockel, Michelle Hartel and the tremendous team of volunteers who worked to make this a hugely enjoyable. 

Due to the tireless work of our PTA co-presidents, Mandy Lecompte and Robin Ortale, the artificial turf project at the intermediate campus has been completed.  Thanks to everyone who had a hand in seeing this project through to the end and to the parents and friends of Sarah Smith who participated in the Read-a-thon which helped to fund this project.

The Sarah Smith Education Foundation’s Annual Campaign is underway.  As you know, this is a very important event for the support of our school’s curriculum programs.  The SSEF provides the funding for items such as International Baccalaureate, Great Books and teacher training.  Without your contributions to the SSEF, we are not able to offer such “above and beyond” resources to our students and teachers.  If you haven’t made your contribution to the SSEF, please do so in order for us to maintain the levels of programs we offer at Sarah Smith.  Thanks to Carlton Hudson and Tammy Jaje for their leadership in this year’s annual campaign.

Red Ribbon Week:  October 23-31, 2014

The objectives for this week have been to use age-appropriate methods and teaching materials to expose our students to the value of making wise choices when it comes to drug, alcohol, and tobacco use, as well as to emphasize the positive attributes, self-respect, and peer influence associated with choosing to remain drug free.  Thanks to our school counselors for organizing the events of the week!

Math Exemplars

As many are aware, Sarah Smith teachers have embarked on a systematic problem solving approach which will be used by all teachers in grades K-5.  The problem-solving approach involves selecting an appropriate strategy, providing reasoning and proof for the function of the problem, communicating the methodology and solution, making mathematical connections and providing appropriate mathematical representations. 

In order for students to be scored as “experts” on the scoring rubric in the area of problem solving, they must chose an efficient strategy and use it appropriately to progress towards a solution.  If necessary, the students must appropriately make adjustments to the strategy or correctly chose an alternate strategy to solve the presented problem.  There must be evidence of analyzing the situation in mathematical terms and extending their prior mathematical knowledge. 

A Featured Program funded by the Sarah Smith Education Foundation

The Sarah Smith Education Foundation provides powerful support for the “quality of academics” at our school entirely through your generosity.  There are several programs we are able to offer, above and beyond what Atlanta Public Schools covers, through your support of the Foundation. 

As has been shared in previous editions of “The Anchor”, one of the school improvement goals for the 2014-2015 school year is to improve the writing skills of students in the three writing types required by the Common Core Georgia Performance Standards – narrative, informational/explanatory and opinion/argumentative. 

Thanks to the generous support of the SSEF, teachers will have each student write two pieces which will be sent to the company WriteScore, Inc. for professional hand-scoring against a rigorous writing rubric.  Results will be sent to teachers to use to determine gaps in students’ writing skills relative to organization/purpose, conventions, and evidence/elaboration.  Teachers will be able use this gap information to provide additional instruction to students to ensure that they are ready for the Georgia Milestone Assessment (which is taking the place of the third and fifth grade writing exams and the CRCT) in the spring.

Staff Feature

Each month two staff members are randomly selected and profiled in “The Anchor.”  This gives you an opportunity to know a little bit about the wonderful faculty and staff members working with your children every day.

Lauren Emily Wilson - Kindergarten Teacher

Birthplace/Hometown – Norcross, Georgia

Education – Bachelor’s in Early Childhood Education from Auburn University

Personal – Mrs. Wilson was married last November (almost a year ago), she has one black lab and one miniature dachshund.  Mrs. Wilson also loves to ride horses.

Claim to Fame – Teaching kindergarten for four years now…three at Sarah Smith and one year in Tampa Florida

Favorite Quote – “Children have got to be free to lead their own lives.” Sebastian from The Little Mermaid

Chiesa Carter – Challenge Teacher

Birthplace/Hometown – Cincinnati, Ohio

Education –  Bachelor’s Child Development and Family Relations/Early Childhood Teaching Certificate from Mercer University; Master’s from Coppin State University

Personal – Fan of most genres of music and enjoys downloading new tunes in her spare time.  Loves listening to soft tunes while reading a good book.  Enjoys spending quality time with her family and special friends, eating at new restaurants, shopping, traveling, spa escapades, and just having a great time enjoying life.  Loves watching the NBA playoffs, especially when her team is leading—go Miami Heat!

Claim to Fame – As a child, Ms. Carter sang in her church and school choirs and she aspired to be a famous singer when she grew up.  To her surprise, she never even made it to American Idol.  Her hidden voice is one of her best kept secrets.  Ms. Carter is a product of a teacher legacy and was inspired to teach by her mother and grandmother.  When she retires, she wants her students to remember that she gave them her best, always expected their best, and never accepted anything less.  Her class motto is I CAN – DREAM, BELIEVE, ACHIEVE!

Favorite Quote – “I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” Maya Angelou

Your Principal,
Ken Proctor, Ed.D.

 

 

From the Principal's Desk

On behalf of all of us at Sarah R. Smith Elementary School, I would like to welcome you to our website. Sarah Smith Elementary has a long and distinguished history of service to our children and families.  We are proud of our students.  They continue to achieve at high levels and make significant contributions.
 
--- Dr. Kenneth Proctor