APS Cluster Planning Sessions

APS seeks input help in developing its cluster plans and charter system application. Learn more about the charter system and provide input on future plans for schools and clusters. The North Atla...more

Charter System Advisory Commitee Meetings

APS' Charter System Advisory Committee meets monthly to review and make recommendations to the charter system application. Open to the public, all meetings take place 6-8:30 pm at the Center for L...more

A Thank You Breakfast for our Teachers

Help us give our teachers and staff and big "thank you" breakfast during Staff Appreciation Week, Feb 9-12. Sign up to contribute juice, coffee and breakfast foods for our big spread. 

Updates on APS-Beltline Funding Issues

Stay up-to-date on the negotiations among APS, the city of Atlanta and the Atlanta Beltline regarding money owed APS with NAPPS

Extra-Curricular Activities Registration

Winter/Spring Extracurricular classes begin Jan 26 at the PC.  Registration continues until Fri., 2/6 at 5 PM. Space is available in several of programs. To register, visit www.myafterschool...more

GA Dpt of Education Parent Survey

As a part of the data collection for the College Career Readiness Performance Index (CCRPI), the Georgia Department of Education asks that all parents complete a brief survey before February 15, ...more

February 1 - Sunday
Read-A-Thon
February 2 - Monday
Read-A-Thon
Black History Month
February 3 - Tuesday
Read-A-Thon
Black History Month
February 4 - Wednesday
Read-A-Thon
PTA & SSEF Board Nominations Due
Black History Month
09:00 AM - School Tours
February 5 - Thursday
Read-A-Thon
Black History Month
February 6 - Friday
Black History Month
07:30 AM - Fidelity Bank
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
06:00 PM - Bingo Night - IC
February 7 - Saturday
Black History Month
February 8 - Sunday
Black History Month
February 9 - Monday
Teacher Appreciation Week
Black History Month
February 10 - Tuesday
Teacher Appreciation Week
Black History Month
February 11 - Wednesday
Teacher Appreciation Week
Black History Month
February 12 - Thursday
Teacher Appreciation Week
Black History Month
February 13 - Friday
Winter Break - No School
Black History Month
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
February 14 - Saturday
Black History Month
February 15 - Sunday
Black History Month
February 16 - Monday
Winter Break - No School
Black History Month
February 17 - Tuesday
Winter Break - No School
Black History Month
February 18 - Wednesday
4th Grade - HTHT
3rd Grade Tattling Tales History Presentation
Black History Month
12:00 PM - NAPPS Community Meeting - E. Rivers Elementary
February 19 - Thursday
Box Tops Collection Day
4th Grade - HTHT
3rd Grade Tattling Tales History Presentation
Black History Month
Chinese New Year
February 20 - Friday
4th Grade - HTHT
Black History Month
07:30 AM - Fidelity Bank
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
February 21 - Saturday
Black History Month
February 22 - Sunday
Black History Month
February 23 - Monday
Black History Month
February 24 - Tuesday
Mardi Gras
Black History Month
February 25 - Wednesday
5th Grade Field Trip
Black History Month
February 26 - Thursday
5th Grade Field Trip
Black History Month
February 27 - Friday
5th Grade Field Trip
Black History Month
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
07:00 PM - Read-A-Thon Hawks Game
March 4 - Wednesday
Walk To School Day
09:00 AM - School Tours
March 5 - Thursday
5th Grade - HTHT
March 6 - Friday
5th Grade - HTHT
07:30 AM - Fidelity Bank
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
06:00 PM - Taste of SRS
March 9 - Monday
Rising Kindergarten Registration (Last Names A-E)
08:15 AM - 3rd Grade Field Trip
March 10 - Tuesday
Rising Kindergarten Registration (Last Names F-M)
08:15 AM - 3rd Grade Field Trip
09:30 AM - Present Parenting Speaker - PC Auditorium
March 11 - Wednesday
Rising Kindergarten Registration (Last Names N-T)
March 12 - Thursday
Rising Kindergarten Registration (Last Names U-Z)
Spring Picture Day
March 13 - Friday
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
March 16 - Monday
Teacher Learning Day - No School
March 18 - Wednesday
4th Grade - HTHT
March 19 - Thursday
4th Grade - HTHT
Spring Book Fair
March 20 - Friday
Report Cards
4th Grade - HTHT
Spring Book Fair
07:30 AM - Fidelity Bank
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
09:30 AM - 1st Grade Field Trip
07:00 PM - Spring Social
March 21 - Saturday
Spring Book Fair
March 22 - Sunday
Spring Book Fair
March 23 - Monday
Spring Conferences
Spring Book Fair
March 24 - Tuesday
Spring Conferences
Spring Book Fair
March 25 - Wednesday
Spring Conferences
2nd Grade Field Trip
Spring Book Fair
11:00 AM - 4th Grade Field Trip
07:00 PM - Spring Musical
March 26 - Thursday
Spring Conferences
3rd Grade - HTHT
Spring Book Fair
11:00 AM - 4th Grade Field Trip
07:00 PM - Spring Musical
March 27 - Friday
Spring Conferences
3rd Grade - HTHT
Spring Book Fair
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
March 30 - Monday
Spring Conferences
Kindergarten Field Trip
March 31 - Tuesday
Spring Conferences
11:00 AM - 4th Grade Field Trip
07:00 PM - PTA Meeting - IC Gym
April 1 - Wednesday
Spring Conferences
09:00 AM - School Tours
11:00 AM - 4th Grade Field Trip
April 2 - Thursday
Spring Conferences
1st Grade French Food Day
April 3 - Friday
Spring Conferences
1st Grade French Food Day
07:30 AM - Fidelity Bank
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
April 6 - Monday
Spring Break - No School
April 7 - Tuesday
Spring Break - No School
April 8 - Wednesday
Spring Break - No School
April 9 - Thursday
Spring Break - No School
April 10 - Friday
Spring Break - No School
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
April 13 - Monday
4th Grade - HTHT
April 14 - Tuesday
4th Grade - HTHT
April 15 - Wednesday
4th Grade - HTHT
12:00 PM - NAPPS Community Meeting - North Atlanta HS
April 16 - Thursday
2nd Grade French Food Day
April 17 - Friday
2nd Grade French Food Day
07:30 AM - Fidelity Bank
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
April 24 - Friday
Kindergarten Round-Up
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
April 27 - Monday
1st Grade - HTHT
April 28 - Tuesday
1st Grade - HTHT
3rd Grade French Food Day
April 29 - Wednesday
1st Grade - HTHT
April 30 - Thursday
Kindergarten Field Trip
5th Grade French Food Day
May 1 - Friday
07:30 AM - Fidelity Bank
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
May 4 - Monday
Rising Kindergarten Screening
May 5 - Tuesday
Rising Kindergarten Screening
May 6 - Wednesday
Rising Kindergarten Screening
May 7 - Thursday
Box Tops Collection Day
Rising Kindergarten Screening
4th Grade French Food Day
May 8 - Friday
Rising Kindergarten Screening
4th Grade French Food Day
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
May 11 - Monday
International Travelers Week
May 12 - Tuesday
International Travelers Week
Local School Council Election Day
06:30 PM - 2nd Grade Night at the IC
May 13 - Wednesday
International Travelers Week
May 14 - Thursday
International Travelers Week
5th Grade PYP Exhibition
May 15 - Friday
International Travelers Week
5th Grade PYP Exhibition
07:30 AM - Fidelity Bank
07:30 AM - School Store Open - IC and PC
May 20 - Wednesday
Yearbook Signing - IC
05:30 PM - 5th Grade Graduation
May 21 - Thursday
Yearbook Signing - PC
May 22 - Friday
Last day of school!!!
End of Year Parties
May 25 - Monday
Memorial Day
June 2 - Tuesday
Final Report Cards

January 26, 2015

I hope that you have had a great beginning to 2015 and that this year holds for you only wonderful opportunities. The New Year is a time to be thankful for the many things we have. I have many things for which to be thankful, including:

  • The teaching staff: They all want what is best for our students.
  • The office staff: They do more than most people can imagine.
  • The support staff: They handle their jobs in a professional manner and are worth their weight in gold.
  • The custodial staff: They do a tremendous job of taking care of our building and all its needs.
  • Our Parents: They are very important in the life of our quality school.  Your support is vital to the success of Sarah Smith.
  • Our Board of Education: The “behind the scenes” people who have been so helpful and supportive of our school.
  • Our students: They come with enthusiasm, smiles, and a willingness to learn.

And, as we begin a new year, here are some suggestions to help make parenting and family life pleasant and important to all:

  • Every day, say “I love you”, hug your children, forgive your kids, forgive yourself
  • Once a week, think of a way to express admiration, make sure children complete chores, play a game together. 
  • Two to three times a month, take pictures, be spontaneous, don’t overschedule. 
  • Once a month, reinforce what your family stands for, organize, recycle and give to the needy, enjoy a family tradition

The Prospective Parent Meeting/Tour was held on January 21, 2015 and was a great success as approximately 80 people were in attendance. Carmen Chartrand and Jennifer England organized the event. Thanks to them and the other parent volunteers for sharing our school with future parents. Well done!

New Student Registration Dates - Primary Campus

  • Last names beginning with A-E, March 9, 2015
  • Last names beginning with F-M, March 10, 2015
  • Last names beginning with N-T, March 11, 2015
  • Last names beginning with U-Z, March 12, 2015
  • Registration for anyone unable to attend on their designated day-March 13, 2015

Scheduled School Tours

  • Wednesday, February 4, 9 AM at Intermediate; 10 AM at the Primary
  • Wednesday, March 4, 9 AM at the Intermediate; 10 AM at the Primary
  • Wednesday, April 1, 9 AM at the Intermediate; 10 AM at the Primary
  • Wednesday, May 6,  9 AM at the Intermediate; 10 AM at the Primary

Please email Carman Chartrand or Jennifer England to reserve a spot.

Kindergarten Round Up: April 24, 2015

Kindergarten Screening Dates:  May 4-8, 2015 (Parents will be asked to choose a time via SignUpGenius.) 

Geography Bee

Congratulations to our Geography Bee winner fifth grader, Zain K. in Mr. Johnson’s class. Job well done!

Spelling Bee

Congratulations to our Spelling Bee winner, Charlie C.in Dr. Riley’s fifth grade class and to Ro M., runner-up who is a fourth grader in Ms. Steiner’s class.  Charlie will represent Sarah Smith in the APS spelling bee. We wish him well!

Carson Scholar

Holland P., a fifth grade student at Sarah Smith Elementary, was selected as the school’s representative for the Carson Scholarship Program. Good luck to Holland!

Staff Feature

Each month, two staff members are randomly selected to be profiled in The Anchor.  This gives readers an opportunity to know a little bit about our wonderful faculty and staff members.

Marty Franchot, French Teacher 

Birthplace/Hometown: New Haven, CT

Education: Bachelors in History from Princeton University; Masters of Arts in Teaching in History from Georgia State University

Hobbies, Family, Interests: Hiking, biking, climbing, skiing, reading, swimming, and traveling.  Her husband Mike and she have four adult children who all went to Sarah Smith Elementary School.

Claim to Fame: Stayed in Masai village before climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro

Favorite Quote: “With malice towards none, with charity for all.”  Abraham Lincoln

Erica Hood, Fourth Grade Teacher

Birthplace/Hometown: Atlanta, GA (attending APS in grades K-12)

Education: Bachelor of Arts in Business Administration and Master of Arts in Elementary Education

Hobbies, Family, Interests – Family is very important.  Her husband, son Bryan and daughter Sanai keep her very busy.  She 

Claim to Fame: She has known her husband since they were both 11 years old.  She was a Recruiter and Corporate Sales 

Favorite Quote: “Success is the only option!”  Author Unknown

Did You Know?

The Sarah Smith Education Foundation (SSEF) has funded the following professional learning days for teachers in the area of: 

  • Math Exemplars Problem Solving – All K-5 Teachers, Special Education, Gifted, ESOL (2 days)
  • Numbers are Primary – Grades K-3 Teachers, Special Education, Gifted, ESOL (2 days)
  • Numbers and Operations – Grades 3-5 Teachers, Special Education, Gifted, ESOL (2 days)

As a part of our continuing improvement efforts in providing stronger mathematics instruction for all students, we are grateful for the support of the SSEF in these endeavors.

Your principal,
Ken Proctor, Ed.D